It can be confusing and complex to navigate the world of workers’ comp benefits. If an employee suffers an injury or illness as a result of their job duties, it’s important they are aware of their rights, responsibilities, and benefits. We’ve compiled a list of frequently asked questions about workers’ compensation to help clear up any confusion.
What Types of Injuries and Illnesses Qualify for Workers’ Comp?
In Nevada, workers’ compensation covers any physical trauma or illness that occurs while an employee is on the job—whether it’s a one-time injury or an occupational disease that develops over time. Any type of physical or psychological injury, illness, or death resulting from a workplace accident is covered.
What Do I Need to Do to File a Claim?
A worker in Nevada may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits if he or she is injured or ill as a result of his or her work. The following steps must be taken in order to receive these benefits:
- You should notify your employer as soon as possible if you have been injured or ill. In order for your claim to be valid, your injury or illness must be reported within 7 days of the occurrence.
- Within 15 days of your injury or illness, submit a Claim for Compensation (Form C-4) to your employer. This form must be provided to you by your employer along with any instructions you may need to complete it.
My Work Injury or Illness Wasn’t Compensated. What Should I Do?
Nevada’s Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) may investigate claims filed by injured employees if their employer does not compensate them for their injuries. You can do this by submitting a report of the accident (Form C-1) and filing an Application for Adjudication of Claim (Form C-2) within one year of your injury or illness.
Can I Lose My Job if I File a Workers’ Comp Claim?
Workers’ compensation claims are not grounds for firing in Nevada. The employer can only discharge employees for gross misconduct or a reorganization of the business that eliminates the employee’s position. A Nevada employer may be liable for wrongful termination if they attempt to fire an employee who has filed a workers’ compensation claim.
In addition, employers are prohibited from intimidating, disciplining, or discriminating against employees who file workers’ compensation claims. Injured workers should not be subjected to interference with their legal rights. A civil lawsuit can be filed by an employee when any of these actions are taken by an employer.
If my Employer Denied My Workers’ Compensation Claim, What Should I Do?
Consult an experienced Workers’ Comp attorney if your employer denies your claim or it is denied. The advice of an attorney can help you determine the best course of action for your case. Taking legal action against your employer or appealing to the state workers’ compensation commission may be an option.
Jay Short: Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
You can rely on Jay Short, Attorney at Law if you’ve been injured on the job or while conducting company business. We specialize in workers’ compensation cases and strive to get workers fair compensation so they can focus on healing and live a normal life. You can reach us at (775) 786-2006 any time day or night for a free consultation. Please feel free to contact us online as well.